International Fashion Education

Pearson is the world's leading learning company in more than 70 countries helping people of all ages to make measurable progress in their lives through learning.
BTEC (Business & Technology Education Council) is one of the world's most recognised applied learning brands, engaging students in practical, interpersonal and thinking skills, for over 30 years.
BTECs are work-related qualifications for students taking their first steps into employment, or for those already in employment and seeking career development opportunities. BTECs provide progression into the workplace either directly or via study at University and are also designed to meet employer's needs.

Therefore, Pearson BTEC Higher National qualifications are widely recognised by Industry and Higher Education as the principal vocational qualification at Levels 4 and 5.
The Pearson BTEC Higher National qualifications in Art and Design are designed to reflect this increasing need for high quality professional and technical education pathways at Levels 4 and 5, thereby providing students with a clear line of sight to employment and to progression to a degree at Level 6.


BTEC qualifications are awarded by Pearson, the UK's largest awarding body offering academic and vocational qualifications that are globally recognised and benchmarked.
Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals qualification gives learner, the experience of breadth and depth of the sector that will prepare them for further study or training.


Why choose Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals?
Pearson BTEC Higher Nationals are designed to help students secure the knowledge skills and behaviours needed to succeed in the workplace. They represent the latest in professional standards and provide opportunities for students to develop behaviours for work, like undertaking a group project, or responding to a client brief.
At the same time the BTEC Higher Nationals are intended to keep doors open for future study should a student wish to progress further in their education after their level 5 study. Clear alignment of level of demand with the Framework for Higher Education qualification descriptors at level 4 and 5 means that students wishing to progress to level 6 study would feel better prepared. The BTEC Higher Nationals address these various requirements by providing a


  • Range of general and specialist units, both core and optional, each with a clear purpose, so there is something to suit each student's choice of programme and future progression plans
  • Fully revised content that is closely aligned with the needs of employers, Professional Bodies, vendors and higher education for a skilled future workforce
  • Learning outcomes mapped against Professional Body standards and vendor accreditation requirements, where appropriate
  • Assessments and projects chosen to help students progress to the next stage (this means some are set by the Centre to meet local needs, while others are set by Pearson)
  • Support for students and tutors including Schemes of Work and Example Assessment Briefs.


Qualification titles
Pearson BTEC Level 4 Higher National Certificate in Art and Design
Pearson BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma in Art and Design


Programme Highlights
Pearson BTEC Higher National qualifications in Art and Design offer the following:


  • a stimulating and challenging programme of study that will be both engaging and memorable for students
  • the essential subject knowledge that students need to progress successfully into further study and the world of work
  • a simplified structure: students undertake a substantial core of learning in the Higher National Certificate and can build on this in the Higher National Diploma, with optional units linked to their specialist area of study
  • five specialist pathways in the Level 4 Certificate, and seven pathways in the Level 5 Diploma, so there is something to suit each student's preference of study and future progression plans
  • refreshed content that is closely aligned with Professional Body, vendor, employer and higher education needs
  • assessments that consider cognitive skills (what students know) along with affective and applied skills (how they behave and what they can do, respectively).
  • unit-specific grading and Pearson-set assignments
  • a diverse approach to assessment that supports progression to Level 6 and also allows centres to offer assessment relevant to the local economy, thereby accommodating and enhancing different learning styles
  • quality assurance measures – as outlined in sections 6 and 7 of this Programme Specification – to ensure that all stakeholders (e.g. professional bodies, vendors, universities, businesses, colleges and students) can feel confident in the integrity and value of the qualifications
  • a qualification designed to meet the needs and expectations of students aspiring to work in an international creative industries environment.